Course Description:

The TOGAF® 9 Practitioner (Level 2) course is a 3-day, interactive, classroom-based learning experience. The course focuses on the practical application of the TOGAF® 9 framework, building on the foundational knowledge and comprehension of Level 1, using practical scenarios to enforce concepts. The purpose of certification for Level 2, known as TOGAF® 9 Practitioner, is to provide validation that, in addition to the knowledge and comprehension of TOGAF 9 Foundation, the candidate is able to analyze and apply this knowledge. The learning objectives at this level focus on application and analysis, in addition to knowledge and comprehension.


  • Individuals who require a deeper understanding of TOGAF 9, e.g., System Integrators, Operational, Business and IT Developers, CIO’s and IT Managers, Program and Project Leaders, IT Specialists, Architects
  • Professionals who are working in an organization where TOGAF 9 has been adopted and who need to participate in architecture projects and initiatives
  • Architects who will be responsible for developing architecture artifacts
  • Architects who wish to introduce TOGAF 9 into an architecture practice
  • Architects who want to achieve a recognized qualification to demonstrate their detailed knowledge of TOGAF 9

Course Duration:

3 days

Learning Objectives:

Individuals certified at this level will have demonstrated their understanding of:

  • How to apply the ADM phases in development of an enterprise architecture
  • How to apply Architecture Governance in development of an enterprise architecture
  • How to apply the TOGAF Architecture Content Framework
  • How to apply the concept of Building Blocks
  • How to apply the Stakeholder Management Technique
  • How to apply the TOGAF Content Metamodel
  • How to apply TOGAF recommended techniques when developing an enterprise architecture
  • The TOGAF Technical Reference Model and how to customize it to meet an organization’s needs
  • The Integrated Information Infrastructure Reference Model
  • The content of the key deliverables of the ADM cycle
  • How an enterprise architecture can be partitioned to meet the specific needs of an organization
  • The purpose of the Architecture Repository
  • How to apply iteration and different levels of architecture with the ADM
  • How to adapt the ADM for security
  • SOA as a style of architecture
  • The role of architecture maturity models in developing an enterprise architecture
  • The purpose of the Architecture Skills Framework and how to apply it within an organizationThe key deliverables of the ADM cycle
  • TOGAF reference models
  • The TOGAF certification program.

 Course Logistics:

  • Classroom — U-shaped setup preferred
  • Whiteboard, flipchart, and projector
  • Participants — maximum of 16

(In case of virtual course delivery: Virtual Classroom Software (provided by CClearning)


There are no formal prerequisites. However, it is recommended that participants have experience in the IT domain. Note, to be certified on TOGAF 9 Level 2, it is required to have passed the TOGAF Level 1 exam.

 Course Material:

Participants receive a copy of the classroom presentation material and the Student Handbook, which contains Reference Material.

 About the Examination:

  • The exam is in open-book format, and includes 8 complex multiple-choice scenario-based questions. The pass score is 60% (5 out of 8 questions). The duration of the exam is 90 minutes, exam vouchers are provided and the exam can be only be at Prometric test centers.

 Course Agenda:

Module NumberModule NameTime(In Minutes)
Day 1
Module 1Course Introduction30
Module 2The Architecture Development Method120
Module 3Adapting TOGAF to the Context65
Module 4Architecture Principles and Requirements90
Module 5Architecture Vision45
Module 6Stakeholder Management and Risk Management40
Module 7Security Architecture10
Day 2
Module 8Enterprise Integration and Service Oriented Architecture85
Module 9Enterprise Continuum and Architecture Repository40
Module 10Architecture Content Framework60
Module 11Business Architecture Phase75
Module 12Information Systems Architectures90
Module 13Technology Architecture95
Day 3
Module 14Transition Planning120
Module 15Building Organizational Capability90
Module 16Architecture Governance110
Module 17The Architect30
Module 18Exam Preparation Guide60