Course Description:

The TOGAF 9® Foundation (Level 1) course is a 2-day, interactive, classroom-based learning experience. The course covers the Foundation Level 1 curriculum and includes many examples of architecture deliverable and artifacts are provided throughout the course. The course enables participants to successfully complete the associated TOGAF Level 1 exam, known as TOGAF 9 Foundation. The certification provides validation that the candidate has gained knowledge of the terminology, structure, and basic concepts of TOGAF 9, and understands the core principles of Enterprise Architecture and TOGAF.


  • Individuals who require a basic understanding of TOGAF 9
  • Professionals who are working in roles associated with an architecture project such as those responsible for planning, execution, development, delivery, and operation
  • Architects who are looking for a first introduction to TOGAF 9
  • Architects who want to achieve Level 2 certification.

Course Duration:

2 days

Learning Objectives:
Individuals certified at this level will have demonstrated their understanding of:

  • The basic concepts of Enterprise Architecture and TOGAF
  • The core concepts of TOGAF 9
  • The key terminology of TOGAF 9
  • The ADM cycle and the objectives of each phase, and how to adapt and scope the ADM
  • The concept of the Enterprise Continuum; its purpose and constituent parts
  • How each of the ADM phases contributes to the success of enterprise architecture
  • The ADM guidelines and techniques
  • How Architecture Governance contributes to the Architecture Development Cycle
  • The concepts of views and viewpoints and their role in communicating with stakeholders
  • The concept of building blocks
  • The key deliverables of the ADM cycle
  • TOGAF reference models
  • The TOGAF certification program.

Course Logistics:

  • Classroom — U-shaped setup preferred
  • Whiteboard, flipchart, and projector
  • Participants — maximum of 16
  • In case of virtual course delivery: Virtual Classroom Software (provided by CClearning)


There are no formal prerequisites; it is recommended that participants have experience in the IT domain.

Course Material:

Participants receive a copy of the classroom presentation material and the Student Handbook, which contains Reference Material.

 About the Examination:

  • Certification is only achieved by passing the examination
  • The exam is in closed-book format, and includes 40 multiple-choice questions. The pass score is 55% (22 out of 40 questions).
  • Duration of exam is 60 minutes
  • Exam vouchers are provided and the exam can only be taken at Prometric test centers.

 Course Credits:

CClearning is registered with the National Association of State Boards of Accountancy (NASBA) as a sponsor of continuing professional education on the National Registry of CPE Sponsors. State boards of accountancy have final authority on the acceptance of individual courses for CPE credit. Complaints regarding registered sponsors may be submitted to the National Registry of CPE Sponsors, 150 Fourth Avenue North, Suite 700, Nashville, TN 37219-2417. Website:

 Course Agenda:

Module Number Module Name Time(In Minutes)
Day 1
Module 1 Course Introduction 30
Module 2 Enterprise Architecture – An Introduction 30
Module 3 TOGAF® 9 – An Introduction 120
Module 4 The Architecture Development Method 135
Module 5 Adapting TOGAF to the Context 45
Module 6 Architecture Principles and Requirements 60
Day 2
Module 6 Architecture Principles and Requirements 40
Module 7 Architecture Vision 30
Module 8 Risk Management 20
Module 9 Enterprise Integration 45
Module 10 Enterprise Continuum and Architecture Repository 30
Module 11 Architecture Patterns 10
Module 12 Architecture Content Framework 60
Module 13 Technology Architecture 10
Module 14 Building Organizational Capability 45
Module 15 Architecture Governance 70
Module 16 Exam Preparation Guide 60